With year-round near-perfect weather and bicycles being popular modes of transportation, it is no surprise that Florida has many bicyclists on the road. However, with the increased use of bicyclists on the road, it is ever more important for drivers, pedestrians, and bicyclists to be aware of the laws of the sunshine state when it comes to where bicyclists are allowed. On the road, bicyclists have the same rights and responsibilities as drivers of motor vehicles. Bicyclists must obey traffic signals at intersections and railroad crossings and are subject to DUI laws. Bicyclists must also travel in the same direction as traffic in one-way streets and roundabouts. Other common questions regarding what bicyclists can and cannot do in Florida are answered below.
Can I ride a bicycle in a crosswalk in Florida?
Generally in Florida, it is legal for bicyclists to ride along crosswalks except when a local ordinance prohibits doing so. Additionally, while bicyclists have the rights and duties of a pedestrian, they must yield to all pedestrians, including when they are in crosswalks.
Can you ride a bicycle on a sidewalk?
Bicycles can be legally operated on all Florida sidewalks and crosswalks unless a local ordinance prohibits it. However, on sidewalks, bicyclists must yield to pedestrians.
Are bicyclists required to wear lights or certain clothing?
In Florida, between sunset and sunrise, cyclists must have a white light visible from 500 feet on the front of the bicycle and a red reflector and a red light visible from 600 feet on the rear of the bicycle.
In Florida, are bicyclists required to wear helmets?
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, while it is recommended that all bicyclists and passengers wear a helmet regardless of age, by law, bicyclists under 16 must wear helmets.
Do cyclists have to ride in a single file line?
If you have driven in Florida, you have probably seen cyclists travel in single file lines when there is traffic nearby. This is because bicyclists cannot ride next to more than one person in the designated bike lane or on the road. Further, bicyclists must ride in a single file line if riding in pairs impedes traffic in any way.
How far away should drivers stay away from bicyclists?
By law, drivers are required to maintain at least three feet of distance from bicyclists at all times. In the case that a road is too narrow and a bicyclist cannot safely ride in a bike lane due to obstacles or pavement hazards, then drivers and bicyclists. must “share the road.” Sharing the road means that bicyclists may transition from the bike ride out of the bike lane to the motorist’s lane. Additionally, bicyclists must also use the full lane even though their speed can be significantly lower than a motorist.
Do bicyclists need a license in Florida?
While bicyclists must follow the laws of the road just like motorists, they are not required to undergo any test to become licensed in Florida.
Contact an attorney at Clayton Trial Lawyers for your Bike Accident
Clayton Trial Lawyers can protect your rights and make sure valuable evidence is not destroyed. Often, insurance companies want to take statements immediately after an accident; therefore, it is important that you have received legal advice before providing such a statement. Your attorney can advise you on issues ranging from how to make sure you are fully compensated for your vehicle to how to make sure you are getting the best medical treatment available. Contact us today.